Comixxen Blog

artis try

The dangers of letting yourself free

One of my gurus’ gurus is Guy Finley. He’s got a lot of talk about Christ and ads for his book everywhere that can be a turn off, but his advice is wonderful. Yesterday a friend asked me, after I told her I was a bit off the leash in expressing my opinion these days, if the hate-journaling was leading to more hate. The answer is yes! But I don’t think it’s GENERATING more hate – I think it’s opening the floodgates for my darker self to say what she’s always felt. Is that a bad thing? No! It’s certainly better than letting my darker self live in the locked basement of my psyche, causing ulcers and panic attacks and getting louder the more I run away. I’m letting her out so I can observe her. What will I learn about myself? It’s exciting to see!

[Question]: I usually feel really good about things. However, sometimes I get thoughts (on a deeper level) that one might never imagine a positive person like me thinking, and they are possibly more negative than anything I thought of before my self-study.

[Guy’s Answer]: Don’t fight this new awareness. The wrong parts of us tell us that a “good” person doesn’t have dark thoughts. This causes us to resist the state, which in turn breathes life into it. This is how we fall into the hands of negative states. It is trickery. Learn to watch everything and judge nothing. Stay quiet. All self-harming states must come and go if you will work at this. Lastly, in the light of these lessons, consider Christ’s instructions to his disciples that they “resist not evil.”

5 comments on “The dangers of letting yourself free

  1. jennydevildoll
    July 19, 2012

    Jesus would be glad I don’t resist evil, but I don’t follow the rest of that sentence very well. Guy is right. These thoughts or emotions aren’t wrong. The people I’ve known who are demanding that everything only be “positive” and “nice” have been some of the most callous, and they do it with a smile.

  2. jennydevildoll
    July 19, 2012

    Oh wait, that line went away, now what I said makes no sense?

  3. tatianagill
    July 19, 2012

    haha, ill add it back! I took it off b/c this christ part can be alienating, i didnt know you were replying 🙂

  4. tatianagill
    July 19, 2012

    I remember you once posted that if anyone else is demanding one changes one’s behavior, they have an agenda that doesn’t involve one’s best interests. So they do!!

  5. jennydevildoll
    July 20, 2012

    Often. I mean, someone might have a legitimate complaint if they feel a person is doing something that’s hurtful to them, but I’ve also met some people who employ belittling or gaslighting techniques to places others completely under their control.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 19, 2012 by in Anxiety, Discovering Tats.
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
