Comixxen Blog

artis try

BTMFA – Block the MotherFucker Already

A friend was concerned about a guy on FB ‘creeping her out’ and blocked him. She posted as much and several guys replied to her post, saying she acted too harshly and should be nice to the guy. Here was my reply:

I’ve blocked so many people who creep me out or don’t respect my wishes for my own e-space. Some of them I’ve let back in once I’ve decided they don’t pose a threat, and if those guys try to pout about it, I tell them I don’t regret blocking them in the least. Its only by enforcing boundaries that we can feel safe to show our best compassion.

I block as many chicks as a do dudes, personally. I blocked my mom when she would not listen to my repeatedly stated boundaries of appropriate discussion topics. There are trolls out there of both sexes, wanting constant attention via poor internet behavior. Life is too short to give it to them. People need to honor their instincts – if someone is creeping you out, its not because you are too uptight – its because something is happening you are not OK with. Boundaries are a wonderful thing and they are in no way cruel, they are facts – I used to feel ‘guilty’ saying how I felt to people if it was negative, who does that help? They learned nothing about how people are perceiving them, and I was surrounded by people taking advantage of my good nature.

2 comments on “BTMFA – Block the MotherFucker Already

  1. jennydevildoll
    January 1, 2013

    Same here. I’ve also blasted and blocked a few guys who weren’t willing to respect the One True Ring (and I don’t mean that one outta Tolkein 😉 I think of it like this, IRL if a person disrespected our boundaries or constantly harassed you, picked arguments over your views or made fun of you for them, etc., you’d stop hanging out with those people. For some reason online people seem to feel that any and all assholish behavior falls under the realm of “debate”, and no one’s allowed to not want to personally hear it.

  2. tatianagill
    January 2, 2013

    Exactly. They’ll defend it as free speech etc – its a public internet but I’m the ‘mod’ of my friends list. I got so disgusted with a friends sexist-troll online behavior that, although his behavior is fine IRL, I didn’t want to hang out with him anymore. Now I know how he thinks.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2012 by in Anxiety, boundaries, Discovering Tats, Feminism.
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
