Comixxen Blog

artis try

The Proud Tradition of Daily Diary Comics

Last night my friend asked me two really good questions:

Q) Do you draw a comic every day?

A) Every night before bed, for the past 33 days, I have drawn a 6 panel comic.  Once I have 2-4 of these comics penciled in, I ink them in a batch, scan them, and share them online.

Q) Would you mind if I copied your idea and drew a daily diary comic too?

A) Yes please do, and it’s not even copying me – I’m copying James Kochalka, Ben Snakepit, and countless others who have done a daily diary comic.

Who else do you know that’s done/is doing a great daily diary comic? I’d love to get a list or recommendations going for people who enjoy this format.

My daily diary comic, “Living in the Now”

James Kochalka’s daily comic American Elf (1998-2012)

Ben Snakepit’s daily comic Snakepit (1998-2008?)

5 comments on “The Proud Tradition of Daily Diary Comics

  1. kateyanne
    January 4, 2013

    Waiting the few days for you to scan the 2 – 4 you do is hard – I’m impatient to see what you’ve been up to. It’s like a phone call with my sister.

  2. jennydevildoll
    January 5, 2013

    I do one called Living In La La Land. At least I *pencil* it every day, the finished ones lag behind (though due to some of the legal stuff that goes on with housing and other situations, this is sort of to my advantage.)

    Last year I found this journal strip I liked. Chaos Life. The artist is A.Stiffler and her wife also has schizophrenia and they like horror movies and stuff.

    • jennydevildoll
      January 5, 2013

      Also, my friend Jay Marcy has done one called Jay’s Days for a long time…sorry I spaced on that one Jay! o_0

      • tatianagill
        January 7, 2013

        Oh cool thanks for all these links.

        Wow I haven’t read this daily comic of yours before, I can’t believe it – I thought I kept up with your stuff 🙂 It’s so rad!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2013 by in Art I Dig, Books, Cartooning, Discovering Tats, Tats' Art.
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
