Comixxen Blog

artis try

How I got creative again

A fellow quit-drinking person asked me how I got creative without booze, and also apologized about hitting me up for advice given how I loudly I was like I’M NOT RUNNING A CLINIC! Here’s my multi-layered reply.

Honestly it stagnated it…for years I relied on booze to ‘get loose’ and didn’t draw until I was a beer or three into the night. So I’ve hardly drawn a thing for 4 years until suddenly I was unemployed for 6 months and just in the past couple months its come flooding out like gangbusters, what appears to be about 4 years of silenced opinions and need to be heard!

You misunderstand, by “Not a Clinic” I mean my (redacted), and other nearly-hobo people who expect to cling to me like a liferaft because I love them too much to let them drown. I’m letting them drown.

I’m still very happy to help people Just not to the point where they are dangerous to my well being b/c they are violent or abusing drugs/alcohol.

Here’s how I kickstarted drawing again: a weekly art night with some new pals where we encouraged each other and let each other experiment with no expectations for results. And I started uploading a bunch of old art and some people on FB were excited about it, and I was excited about it, I realized I wasn’t so worthless, and I felt good enough to make some new stuff. Pictures are an easy way to get attention on the internet though, I lucked out in that way.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2013 by in Alcohol Recovery, Anxiety, boundaries, Discovering Tats, Health.
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
