Comixxen Blog

artis try

Things That Help Me

Here are some things I’ve been doing for myself recently that really help me, they make me feel balanced, at ease, and generally happier:

  • AA Meetings
  • Reading books
  • Journalling my anxiety/substance consumption, as well as thoughts about AA/my alcoholism
  • Practicicing Tai Chi (I got a DVD from the library)
  • Reading “The Relaxation and Stress Reduction Workbook” (SO FREAKING HELPFUL!!!) – and per this book, practicing Breathing and Body Awareness/unclenching of muscles
  • Going on long walks and singing along to 80s music on my phone
  • Getting out in the daylight
  • Doing artwork, inking and drawing
  • Facing down dark feelings and coming out the other side
  • Getting comfort and healthy examples in person from wise friends, small children and dogs

Here’s the things I do that give me instant gratification, but usually make me feel all stressed out after:

  • Facebook
  • Coffee
  • Not leaving the house all day
  • Sleeping in really late
  • People pleasing (telling people what I think they want to hear instead of what I actually think/feel)
  • Excessive candy/chocolate/carb-loading
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2013 by in Alcohol Recovery, Anxiety, Books, Discovering Tats, Health, Reading, Spirit.
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
