Comixxen Blog

artis try

Internet 102: Don’t Be A Dick.

If only you could see yourself.

OH WAIT YOU CAN.

Go back and reread what you just posted as a comment on MY Facebook wall.

You are talking like a serious dickhead!

Don’t give me orders. I’m a 38 year old woman. I don’t take orders outside of a workplace.

Don’t make this all about you. MY Facebook page is not all about you. Your FB page, that no one reads because you’re a dick and its all about you, go wild on that page.

If you think this is aimed at you, it’s probably not. The people who are the most dickish are the ones who never, ever seem to be aware that EVERYONE CAN SEE WHAT THEY’RE SAYING. Everyone on my f-list, everyone on your f-list, we all know what a dick you act like online.

Whether or not you are a good person IRL, you’re wearing your heart on your sleeve.

Check yourself, sooner rather than later, or soon you’ll be a pariah online and off, unless you have a niche of yes-men due to wealth or drunken enablement. People don’t separate it. “OH he was a huge dick to my friend on that thread but I bet he’s a good guy.” Nope, doesn’t happen. You are your actions, online or off. People will like you less if you are continually rude, bossy, intrusive and self-obsessed. If you don’t care if people like you, hey, just keep on keepin on. I’ll just delete your comment, it’s no skin off my nose.

3 comments on “Internet 102: Don’t Be A Dick.

  1. automatedlagomorph
    May 9, 2013

    Did you make the “Don’t Be A Dick!” image? It’s fantastic.

  2. jennydevildoll
    May 10, 2013

    I can’t say I’m sure what this is about, but I really like the graphic!

    • tatianagill
      May 10, 2013

      haha, I just googled that image up! it was the clear winner.

      This is a general old-lady rant I’ve been saying to friends recently, and decided to write it up. I see so many people (mostly on my FB page but also friends FB pages, and the whole online harassment community in general) online communicating with words they would never say IRL because it’s so outrageous and rude. Possibly because they don’t want to get punched, but I suspect people who are online a lot just forget there’s other actual people on the internet, with feelings and preferences, and if they keep it up soon a lot of people are going to prefer not to talk to them anymore.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by in boundaries, Snark.
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
