Comixxen Blog

artis try

Weird Stuff I’ve Been Eating

It’s hot out, I may or may not be on the rag, I’m feeling fat and undernourished, its time to change up what I eat. For months it’s been a stab at nutrition during meals, but more often than not I overturn cooking in favor of the same old snacky standbys: yogurt, ice cream, cereal in milk, granola bars, organic bars or pop tarts. All fine foods that do not meet my nutritional needs. My theory is, beyond what common scientific knowledge we have, there are all kinds of reasons different foods are good for you that we’re only beginning to map. vitamins, omegas, protein and fat chains, aminos, anitioxidents, acids, bacteria, fermentation, yeasts, fungi, oh my! I think we should eat lots of variety and lots of vegetables if we want to stay ahead of our non-comprehensive nutritional understanding.

So I went a little crazy at the grocery store, spent more than I usually do, here’s some of the things I’ve been trying:

“Wasa” rye cracker with a layer of cream cheese and “candied smoked salmon” broken up and spread on top.

“Ok Mok” whole wheat cracker with Muenster cheese on top

Celery sticks dipped in herbed cream cheese (added from dried-spice cabinet: dill, thyme, rosemary, basil, garlic)

Tempeh sliced and marinated for 10 minutes in soy sauce, rice vinegar, garlic powder. Fry in sesame oil on med-low heat for 10-15 min on each side.

Oh so many green olives and little dill pickles

Smoothie with banana, berries, pineapple, super green powder, toasted flax seed, kefir, OJ, and half a blender full of fresh spinach!

Toasted english muffin topped with fried egg and melted cheese/spinach blend I fried up next to the egg

Spinach salad with baby carrots, goddess dressing, crumbled goat cheese

Toasted english muffin topped with goat cheese, fried egg, and spinach

Yogurt, like before, only now with a handful of dried tropical fruit thrown in

5 comments on “Weird Stuff I’ve Been Eating

  1. dropacat
    June 5, 2013

    All of this sounds really good! And from what I remember, those foods make me feel good too Also, I think you mean ak-mak crackers! πŸ˜›

    • tatianagill
      June 5, 2013

      oh yah! Ak-mak! I read the packaging to day and now I feel double healthy πŸ™‚

  2. jennydevildoll
    June 5, 2013

    Wait’ll you get to juicing! πŸ™‚

  3. tatianagill
    June 5, 2013

    ooh! I heard I could pick one up at a thrift store..I am juice curious.

  4. Kim A
    June 5, 2013

    That spinach salad sounds pretty good. I must try it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 5, 2013 by in Cooking for One, Nest, Recipies.
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
