Comixxen Blog

artis try

Body Positive: I’m POSITIVE I love my body!

Most of us bemoan our how our bodies look for one reason or another. I know I did. But recently I’ve had a change. No I haven’t lost any weight (not that I own a scale, but my clothes still fit the same), no I haven’t changed my eating, and I’ve been steadily walking a lot for years.

What’s changed is something in me. I think it’s due to looking online at body-positive photos of women and men of all sizes, loving their bodies and dressing in clothes they love. You can find these photos tagged as #fatshion, #bodypositive, #plussize, #curves, #fatspo, and more. Good places to start are
http://fuckyeahfatpositive.tumblr.com
http://thecurvyfashionista.com/the-blogroll/plus-size-blogs/
http://tessmunster.com/effyourbeautystandards.html
The list goes on and on!

I don’t see women with my body type on TV, movies, or in magazines, and I don’t see my size on mannequins or even in most clothing stores. But I can find gals of all sizes on the internet if I look specifically for it. For the record I’m 5’10”, about 220 lbs, a size 20, XL, and to make it even harder to shop for myself, women’s shoe size 11.5! But this week I made some majorly awesome shirt scores at the Goodwill and am feeling more thrilled about my body than ever before (p.s. I also started a new antidepressant, Cymbalta, that really eased up some chronic body aches I was plagued with, making it easier to appreciate my body).

My friend Miriam, a professional costumer, tipped me off with some great shopping advice: since all mirrors and lighting in dressing rooms are different, before you leave the house, wear an outfit you already know you love how you look in. Then check yourself out in your favorite mirror at home, and commit it to memory: THAT’S what I look like. So no matter what you see in the dressing room mirror, just remember what you saw before you left the house. No need to melt down due to bad lighting or a series of unpleasant fits (which I have done, repeatedly).

Without further ado, here’s me showing off all my new-to-me Goodwill shirts (skirts from Goodwill, Old Navy, Take-2 consignment store and garage sale)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
