Comixxen Blog

artis try

Things that help my Eczema

 I have lifelong eczema that is currently in remission, recently I’ve seen people asking for advice on the matter, and I wrote up what has helped me.

 

  • To avoid skin irritants, I only use Trader Joe’s laundry detergent and tea tree shampoo, conditioner, and body wash
  • I moisturize with avocado oil (Eucerin can help too, but isn’t nourishing). When I’m getting persistent irritation in a small area, I use a few drops tea tree oil mixed with a tsp avocado oil
  • Stress management – therapy, meditation, deep breathing, lifestyle changes
  • Allergen avoidance (for me it’s dust and grass and trees, so that’s a tall order, but a clean house helps)
  • I take 1/2 a benadryl (helps me sleep and helps with allergies) and 3 mg melatonin (helps me sleep) at night, and I take allegra in the morning
  • Vitamin rich and anti-inflammatory foods, take vitamin supplements like fish oil (Organic salmon oil is the best)
  • Docs can give steroid cream which helps during a flare up, but is a temporary solution
  • For an all-over infection a bleach bath can help
  • Light therapy gave me relief a few years back – but it also cost me a ton of money
  • If your dermatologist/doctor isn’t helping, try a new dermatologist if possible, I had some very dismissive ones until I found one who took it seriously
  • Acupuncture really helped bring down inflammation/reduce stress
  • A massage is a great way to relax for a bit
Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 31, 2014 by in Anxiety, Health and tagged , , , , , .
Follow Comixxen Blog on WordPress.com
